Friday, 15 May 2020

Modern Indian History Questions from Previous Year

Most important previous year question for upcoming exams

1)Under whose leadership was the Chittagong Armoury Raid organised ?

[A] Sukhdev
[B] Bhagat Singh
[C] Surya Sen
[D] Rajguru

And: Surya Sen.

Chittagong armoury was organised by Surya Sen popularly called as master da. It was an attempt to raid the armoury of police on 18 April, 1930.

2. In which of its sessions did the Indian National Congress declare ‘Purna Swaraj’ as its specific goal?

[A] Lahore Session, 1929
[B] Tripuri Session, 1939
[C] Surat Session, 1905
[D] Special Session in Calcutta, 1920

Answer: Lahore session 1929.

The lahore session of the Congress passed a resolution declaring Poorna Swaraj to be it's objective on 31 December, 1929.

3. Motilal Nehru and C.R. Das were the founders of a party known as the :

[A] Gadar Party
[B] Forward Bloc
[C] Swarajya Party
[D] Socialist Congress

Answer: Swarajya Party

Matilal Nehru and C. R Das were the founders of Swarajya party. Established in Jan 1923 by both of them.

4. Which of the following princely states did not accede to the Indian Union after independence?

[A] Hyderabad
[B] Junagarh
[C] Kashmir
[D] Jodhpur

Answer: Hyderabad.

At the time of partition, there were 552 princely states. In 1948, a plebiscite was conducted and it went unanimously in favour of accession to Indian union.

5. Who was the first Indian Governor General of Independent India?

[A] Rajendra Prasad
[B] C. Rajagopalachari
[C] A. Kriplani
[D] Lord Mountbatten

Answer: C. Rajagopalachari.

He was the first Indian and last governor general of independent India. He served as q governor general of India from 1948 until 26 Jan, 1950. He was the only Indian national ever to held to the office.

6. Which of the following was not advocated by Mahatma Gandhi?

[A] Prohibition
[B] Heavy Industries
[C] Village Panchayat
[D] Dignity of Labour

Answer: Heavy Industries.

Gandhi stressed on Boosting rural economies.

7. One of the following was not associated with the Gadar party?

[A] Lala Hardayal
[B] Baba Gurdit Singh
[C] Mohammad Barkatullah
[D] Sohan Singh Bhakna

Answer: Baba Gurdit Singh.

8. Who was the first Indian to be elected as a Member of the British House of Commons?

[A] Jayaprakash Narayan
[B] Dada Bhai Naoroji
[C] Ram Manohar Lohia
[D] Sarojini Naidu

Answer: Dada Bhai Naroji.

He was elected from the Finsbury central in 1892. He was the first Indian and Asian to be elected as member of the British house of Commons.

9)What was Kuomintang ?
[A] A nationalist party in Japan
[B] A fascist party in Japan
[C] A terrorist organisation in China
[D] A nationalist party in China

Answer: it's a nationalist party in China.

10) Who was the ruler of Delhi when Ahmad Shah Abdali defeated the Marathas in the third Battle of Panipat in 1761 ?
[A] Alamgir I
[B] Muhammad Shah
[C] Jahandar Shah
[D] Shah Alam II

Answer: Shah Alam II

Third battle of Panipat was fought in 1761 between the invader Afghan Shah Abdali and the Marathas. At that time Ali Gauhar aka Shah Alam II ( Oct 1760- Nov 1806) was the Mughal emp emperor.

Questions for self practice :

Who was the last governor general of British India?



Post a Comment